Dear Fox News

Dear Fox News,

As someone who has enjoyed your programming and the balance you have added to our civic discussion, I am disappointed and hurt by the way your organization has been publicly denigrating transgender people recently.

I am disappointed because there is much enlightening information that could be shared about this topic that is coming into greater cultural awareness: old stereotypes are giving way to better scientific understanding and more compassionate views of people who are as real as any other human being.

I am hurt because I myself am a married Christian woman, a woman of transsexual experience. The negative picture your on-air personalities have been painting of me and people like me are untrue and they hurt. Moreover, they poison people’s minds and reinforce existing bigotries. As a “fair and balanced” news organization, I would have thought you would be sensitive to this this, but it seems you are not.

Even so, I will continue to be a kind and good person who happens to be transgender (when that fact is even noticed). I stand in opposition to negative stereotypes simply by living my life as an ordinary, successful woman who is comfortable in who and what she is: comfortable with her past as a “man” and joyfully unashamed of her present and future as a the woman she is.

Please reconsider the message you are communicating to your viewers. Compassion is an appropriate response whether you agree with how we manage our lives or not. Why not set a good example for others? Compassion is something that all people of various political, and religious worldviews can share.

I am confident you will do the right thing in the end.

Blessings & Joy!!

Brettany Renee Blatchley (to Colleagues)

Brettany Renée Blatchley

✻ღϠ₡ღ✻
(¯`✻´¯) Abandon yourself to God (who has your back)
`*.¸.*✻ღϠ₡ღ And when in doubt, do the kind thing.
♥•*´¨♥ ♪♫


I finally decided to write Fox News over their awful treatment of trans folk recently. If you want to write, you can send to foxfeedback@foxnews.com. Be aware that your letter may be read on-air!

Thoughts?

